St. James softball returns everyone from a season ago

March 31, 2014

 

St. James Academy’s girls softball program is attempting to pick up where it left off after a somewhat difficult 2013.

“Last year was a rebuilding year for us and it was difficult not just because of that but because of the weather,” coach Kerri Elstun said. “We weren’t necessarily young, but we lost four girls and we didn’t even get all of our games in.

“But the girls definitely rose to the occasion,” Elstun said of her squad who went 6-8, after losing to Blue Valley West High in the regional game.

This season, the Thunder have everyone returning from the varsity squad, including some newcomers.

“I’ve also added a couple freshman to the mix which is obviously great for our team because we will have a little more depth this year,“ Elstun said.

The six seniors who will make up varsity this year are: Cidney Barrick, Caroline Lipp, Machaela Geither, Kaelin Walsh, Becca Sapp and Haley Bumgarner.

Lipp and Barrick are Elstun’s two seniors who have started all four years and will serve as team captains for the Lady Thunder.

Last season, Lipp, who signed to play with Rockhurst next year, hit over .600 and Elstun touts as a “very solid all around player.”

In the past, Lipp has been behind the plate and will more than likely continue to play catcher or shortstop.

“I’m really excited thinking about this as my last year playing at St. James and I want to give it my all with the girls so that we can make it to state hopefully again,” Lipp said. “This year, we have a really good turnout and I think we are going to be pretty decent. I’m just really excited to get the season started and to see what everyone can contribute to the team.”

Starting pitcher Barrick looks to have a huge impact this season both defensively and offensively, Elstun said. Freshman Katie Coens will back up Barrick on the mound.

“She’s been a pitcher for me for four years and can play other positions as well,” she said. “We’ve also seen a lot of power in her hitting.”

Barrick said with the addition of some underclassman, she is “really excited going into this year and for what’s hopefully to come.”

This will be Barrick’s final season not only with the Lady Thunder but with the sport in general, as the senior said she has opted not to pursue the sport post graduation.

“It’s definitely bittersweet,“ she said. “But I would love to go out with a bang and be like, ‘We took first in state my senior year‘.”

Starting shortstop and De Soto High-transfer Walsh looks to return her senior year after sitting out most of her junior season following a winter accident that left her with a broken leg. She played some third base for SJA, but will make more of an impact this season at shortstop.

For the second year in a row, Geither joins sisters and fellow starters Caroline and the Lady Thunder’s lone junior Gabby.

With so much versatility and experience, Elstun said she expects the team will be able to “pick up where we left off last year.”

“I don’t expect anything but progress,” she said. “We do have a tougher schedule this year but I made it like that because I want these girls to be ready for whatever 5A is going to throw at us.”

The Thunder’s season opens April 1 at Eudora and Elstun said as long as the weather cooperates in the next few weeks, her squad will be ready.

“I’m excited to watch these six seniors start their season and I’m anxious to see how they finish their tenure here,” Elstun said. “I mean, this season is about them and half my squad, most of them have been with me from the get go so I’m probably more emotional since I am already thinking of how I’m going to have to say goodbye to these girls who have really made an impact on me and this program.

“They are not they best softball players around but they are good players an they will work hard and they will succeed,” she said.

Leave a comment