Williams has lofty expectations for Lady Braves swim team

March 26, 2014

After a successful season last year as Kaw Valley co-champions, Bonner Springs High girls swimming coach Preston Williams has high expectations for his team.

With 15 on his squad this season, including returning varsity swimmers Robyn Lewis and Madison Stumbough, the second-year coach said he is encouraged with what he has seen since practice started March 3.

“They are working hard and I think they are doing well so far,” he said.

The Lady Braves lost four swimmers last season, but have a heavy freshman presence with swimmers that have experience in both the pool and with Williams.

He lauded freshman Brenna Holt and Alayna Dooley as strong breast strokers who will most likely contribute well to the relay teams.

“I want to get those relays to state again, and I want to see them improve,” Williams said. “And those girls can help.”

The Lady Braves qualified all three relays for state last season, as well as four individual events.

Lewis is the Lady Braves’ top returning state placer, after breaking two school records in the 200- and 500-yard freestyle as a freshman. She was also on the two freestyle relays, 200 yard and 400 yard, that broke school records, as well.

“Going to state was such a big thing for me as a freshman and I knew going into sophomore year that it was going to be crazy because everyone is going to have high expectations of me,” Lewis said. “That puts pressure on me but that also motivates me.”

Despite an injury prone off-season, Lewis said physically, she feels 100 percent but isn’t exactly where she would like to be mentally.

“That brought me down mentally and I just need to get my mindset back and have faith in myself,” she said. “I think after our first meet I need to put myself out there to just race and see where I’m at.”

Williams said he has named Stumbough, who was on three relays last year, as a team captain. The other captain will be chosen his week.

Considering her previous season, Williams said is looking forward to see how she will fare.

“She was real close to making it to state last year and I really want to get her to state in an individual event this year,” he said. “She swims pretty much anything and she’ll definitely be on all of our freestyle relays.”

Returning juniors Morgan Lawrence and Amber Lies will be competing for spots on relays, along with Australian exchange student Danielle Hasking.

“Freestyle is her strength and she is an experienced swimmer who will definitely be contributing on our relays,” Williams said of Hasking.

The Lady Braves have one senior — first year swimmer Sasha Bingaman — who could also be competing for a spot on a relay.

In anticipation of the squad’s first meet April 3 at the Hummer Sports Complex in Topeka, the Lady Braves will be running time trials all this week.

“Our first meet is actually huge,” he said. I’m excited about that and I’m just really excited in general because I think we should have a good season. Our numbers are growing and I’m ready to see where the season takes us.”

Leave a comment